Bidding Adieu To Airtel Broadband


I am finally convinced that I should ditch my existing Airtel Broadband connection. On Saturday, I placed a request for Reliance Broadband. They collected 600/- (as a cheque) and have promised me a working connection by tomorrow (Monday January 29 2012). Let me see how they are going to keep their end of the promise.

Airtel broadband was good while it lasted. The reliability and quality of service was in par with BSNL Broadband. I understand that many among you might hold a detrimental or bad opinion about BSNL Broadband. One aspect which people tend to forget is…BSNL, Airtel and now even Reliance…all these are ADSL connections. In other words, if the wiring and other connectivity options to your home is in top notch condition, then naturally you will get to enjoy a good connection. Many subscribers of BSNL Broadband are more than happy to blame the government officials without doing their part of homework. I have used BSNL Broadband for about five years and in that time, I had a downtime of no more than one hour or so.

I will have to attribute the same quality of service to Airtel Broadband, likewise. I used it for something like an year and a half – despite certain initial hiccups, the connection was flawless. The only gripe with Airtel Broadband is the 256kbps speeds once we cross the fair usage policy limit. For me, this limit has been set to 5GB. Since I am connected to the Indian and International markets 24 x 5..the 5GB limit gets expired very soon. In other words, I am forced to spend the rest of the month on 256kbps. As of now I am paying 499/- as monthly rental. Please bear in mind that Reliance and Asianet Broadband are already offering 512kbps unlimited connection (with no added fair usage policies) within Kerala for 500/- ($10.14) per month.

I am seriously concerned about the reliability of Reliance Broadband in Trivandrum. I started a thread over at rimweb.in; however, no one seems to be replying 😦

Leave a Reply

