Nifty Futures Intraday Trading Report June 14, 2011


Inflation data release was scheduled for the day. The session started off with a positive note with me entering long in between 5510 and 5520. However, the market had other plans for the day. After making the day’s high in between 5530 and 5540, it began to fall. Gradually, it touched my stop loss which I had placed in between 5500 and 5510.

This region also comprised of my shorting point. By the time the contract came to rest in between 5490 and 5500, my short order was triggered. However, the value of the contract began to rise further higher triggering my short stop loss order.

After that the scene began to get murkier. I entered long once again in between 5520 and 5530 only to find myself stopped out. Once again, when the contract came to my shorting levels (which now lay in between 5500 and 5510), I shorted. The stop loss for this trade was eventually triggered.

What can someone who follows the trend do on such a trend-less day? Of course, it was a field day for those who always try to capture the tops and bottoms of the market. These people make loads of money during such ranging days.

Another curious aspect that added to the volatility of the contract was the 15 point difference in between the nifty spot value and the contract’s value. Due to this large difference in the figures, the stop losses were triggered on both sides of the trade.

Leave a Reply

