Automatic Router Firmware Update from Airtel Broadband


Woah! I am officially impressed with Airtel Broadband services.

This morning, I find that they have done a remote update of the firmware of my broadband modem (Beetel 110TC1). The old firmware revision was T1B-0Q-005. Right now I am running on T1B-0Q-013.

The ADSL Status is now displayed as “PPP up” (earlier it was “connected”). The loop length in meters is also now shown; it is 1200m for me. There maybe other changes too – please post them over here as comments.

I request other Airtel Broadband customers to use 192.168.1.1 to access your modem’s browser based interface and determine whether they have done something similar on your modem too.

Update (March 13 2012 18:49): If you are interested in updating the firmware of your Airtel broadband modem (specifically the ones which are given away to the subscribers from the company itself), please check out http://122.166.105.80 This is a private portal maintained by Alcatel Lucent (who take care of the airtel broadband network in India). The appropriate firmware for your modem can be downloaded off that portal. As usual, please take caution against trying to upgrade the firmware.

13 Responses to Automatic Router Firmware Update from Airtel Broadband

  1. Anand Isaac says:

    Remote update? that seems cool. But potential for disaster if your modem gets powered off while updating.
    I have a D-Link modem now.. so no updates I guess πŸ˜›

    • I was using a D-Link modem (DSL 2540T) too with RouterTech firmware. However, recently, I began to face connectivity issues. Every five minutes or so, the connection used to get disconnected.

      Then I began testing the connection with the modem provided by Airtel. Surprisingly, the connectivity issues disappeared; in fact, it has improved a lot. There is a marked rise in the SNR levels (along with a reduction in the attenuation values).

      It has now acted as a bonus with the modem’s firmware getting updated automatically. πŸ™‚

  2. Airtel just upgraded my modem to Beetel 110TC1, but the firmware is still T1B-0Q-005. Any clues on where I could get the T1B-0Q-013 from?

    • The firmware updation was done automatically for me. I guess they maybe enforcing the remote update procedure in a phased manner. Keep on checking – they ought to do it some day or the other. . πŸ™‚

  3. Pingback: Firmware For Broadband Modems « Day Trading Redefined

  4. Thhis text is invaluable. Where can I fid oout more?

  5. Hey there! I’ve been following your web site for a longg time now
    and finally got the courage to go aead aand give you a shout
    out from New Caney Tx! Just wanted to tell you keep up the great
    work!

  6. Sarveshwar says:

    Do you, in any way, have that firmware file?

    • 26232 says:

      No. I do not have it now.

  7. Hello. excellent job. I did not anticipate this. This is a impressive
    story. Thanks!

  8. Way cool! Some extremely valid points! I appreciate you penning this article and the rest of the
    website is really good.

  9. bet365 says:

    Hi, this weekend is pleasant designed for me, because this moment i am reading this fantastic educational paragraph here
    at my home.

  10. skoda says:

    keep up the good work

Leave a Reply

