Flipping With Flipkart! (Post Updated)


It was only recently that I came to know about this online shopping website for Indians. Needless to state, but I desperately wanted to “test drive” their services.

My old Reliance CDMA mobile phone (LG RD 3500) is dying a painful death. So I decided to shell out a couple of rupees to procure an entry model from Nokia. The Nokia 1508 listed at Flipkart caught my attention. Although the MRP of the mobile phone was 3,500/-, this website was giving it away for 2,300/-.

I placed an order (Order No.: OD10226130011) for a Nokia 1508 (black color) on February 26, 2011. According to this link, if the product was in stock, I will get it by three business days.

By March 02, I get a phone call from one of the company executives. The conversation was brief – the bottom-line is they do not have any black colored Nokia 1508 with them. This intrigued me greatly because (a) If they did not have the phone in stock, why did they list it on the website and (b) why are they informing me about this after about three days from placing the order. Frankly, the agent who called me was more than willing to cancel the transaction (with them reverting my payment of 2,350/- within a week to my bank account). This gesture too was non-professional – I would have asked my clients to opt for alternatives instead of blatantly trying to cancel the order!

I wanted the phone. There was no turning back now. I questioned the agent for plausible alternatives. She replied they can procure red colored Nokia 1508 for me. I welcomed this gesture. She hung up stating that they will ship the order soon.

By March 05, I get an email from Blue Dart stating that my phone is on transit. A way-bill number was included with the email – with the help of which I can keep a track of my phone. But then Blue Dart has this uncanny habit of displaying Flight/Vehicle/Train; Delayed/Canceled Contact Customer Service for every package I order through them. Something similar occurred a couple of years ago – you can read it from here.

In short, approximately a week has passed and I do not have the phone with me. Well, maybe I was expecting too much from desi vendors who are trying to mimic western online shopping websites!

Update 1 (06/03/2011) – I just received a call from one of the Flipkart officials. It seems someone has brought this post to his attention. He has promised me that he will be doing the needful to speedup the phone’s delivery. 🙂

Update 2 (07/03/2011) – Bluedart just delivered the phone. Kudos to Flipkart. 🙂

Update 3 (27/02/2012) – It has come to my notice that Flipkart has this bad habit of removing bad reviews about their services from their website. For the sake of illustration, please check out the product reviews listed over there. Almost all the reviews will be about praising the excellent services of the company. If your review has been removed by Flipkart, kindly check out Flipkart.com Deleting Reviews . Post your experiences in that thread.

Leave a Reply

