Airtel Broadband Double Speed Fiesta is Over


I am currently on the (now defunct) Home 499 plan which originally came with 1Mbps speeds. By September 2010, Airtel upgraded my speeds to 2Mbps free-of-cost. Lately, I have been experiencing sluggish speeds and hence, I decided to conduct a speed test using Airtel’s Speed Check service. I was dismayed to find that it lists my speeds as 1Mbps.

Just this morning I had an elaborate conversation with one of the company’s representatives. It appears that they had withdrawn the offer right from August 2010 itself. But due to some technical mishap, I was enjoying the old speeds. The honeymoon is finally over and I am back to 1Mbps speeds. 😦

2 Responses to Airtel Broadband Double Speed Fiesta is Over

  1. Sudeep says:

    I too was enjoying this plan (Mangalore, Karnataka) until a few days ago when they reverted back to 1MBPS. I was furious, and contacted customer care… no use, so I escalated to the nodal officer, still no use… he uttered some nonsense. Now I have appealed to appelate authority. If they do not make the connection back to 2MBPS they can be into a legal mess. I have all the valid documents required to file a case to the consumer court, and that holds good in the criminal court too. Lets see what the appelate authority does regarding this.

    • I tried my best to convince them. However, they are holding on to the statement that the double speeds have been canceled for all the subscribers across India. That is true.

      It was all a ploy to attract unsuspecting customers like us. Once we enroll for the services, then we are left at their mercy. 😦

      Please do post in here if you are successful in the venture!

Leave a Reply

