Cheated by Airtel Broadband Services!


Of lately, I heard about certain innovative plans from Airtel Broadband. I liked the Combo 499 plan which offered 1mbps UL with a fair usage policy of 5GB after which the speeds will be reduced to 256kbps. Since I am not an avid downloader, the plan seemed perfect for me.

By 22nd May 2010, Airtel officials toured my house and installed the broadband connection. It came with an Airtel land line too, which had 200/- free airtel to airtel calls – every month.

Today (a.k.a on 25th May 2010) I receive a phone call from Airtel officials stating that my speed has been reduced to 512kbps from 1mbps. They were saying that the sales officials made a “mistake” by filling me up with the wrong plan details.

Immediately after the phone call, I checked my speeds. They had already reduced it to 512kbps. Until this afternoon, I was enjoying 1mbps.

I contacted the customer care and according to them, the speed of Combo 499 plan has been reduced to 512kbps but only for the new customers who opted for the connection on and after 24th May 2010.

As per the records held by Airtel, my connection was activated by 21st May 2010.

I would like to point out that I had opted for an additional broadband connection from Airtel solely because of the 1mbps speeds for 499/-. I am already using a 512kbps plan from BSNL Broadband.

The customer care officials have asked me to wait for 24 hours. I am keeping my fingers crossed for the time-being.

Needless to state, but I am shocked and dismayed at this happening. 😦

Update 1 (26/05/2010) – Someone from Airtel BB team just called me. After hearing my story, they said that they would give a request to upgrade the speed back to 1mbps. Will have to wait until something or the other occurs..

Update 2 (27/05/2010) – This was a day of mixed reactions. I contacted some of the senior officials in the tech and sales department. They understood my situation and assured me that the speeds would be upgraded back to 1mbps considering this as a “commitment issue”. However, I did receive some phone calls from some other officials stating that nothing can be done at the moment and that I can disconnect the services or continue with the 512kbps UL.

Update 3 (28/05/2010) – Got a call from Airtel BB wing in the evening. They assured me that my speeds would be reinstated to 1mbps by 05/06/2010 (the next billing cycle). Only time will tell if they will keep their word.

Update 4 (03/06/2010) – I am getting numerous calls from senior officials. Everyone of them are saying the same – your speed will be reinstated to 1Mbps by 5th June. Just two more days to go.

Update 5 (06/06/2010) – Airtel kept their word. My speeds were reinstated to 1Mbps.

Leave a Reply

